What to Do Following an Airbnb Accident in Connecticut

What to Do Following an Airbnb Accident in Connecticut

Airbnbs offer a wide variety of locations to stay in while visiting a new place. However, Airbnbs are not exempt from accidents happening on their property. Injuries can happen anywhere, at any time. If you stay in an Airbnb and you have been injured in an accident, you may be eligible to recover compensation for your damages. To learn more about taking legal action after an Airbnb accident, continue reading and reach out to our skilled Connecticut personal injury attorney.

Who is responsible for an Airbnb accident?

Airbnb has its own insurance coverage for accidents. The coverage is referred to as the Host Protection Insurance and Airbnb provides up to $1 million to those who are injured on the premises of an Airbnb. The host or owner of the property is not responsible. However, there are some instances that will prompt Airbnb to not provide coverage including the following:

  • Accusations of slander or defamation of character
  • Intentional acts, such as a guest fighting with another person and sustaining an injury
  • Property issues, such as bed bugs, asbestos, communicable diseases, or certain other unsafe living conditions
  • Auto accidents, such as car accidents occurring on the premises

You may still be eligible to recover compensation if your incident involved one of the above circumstances, just not from Airbnb. To learn more about taking legal action after being involved in an Airbnb accident, reach out to our experienced personal injury attorney who will analyze your situation and help you to take the next steps.

What if Airbnb’s coverage is not enough?

There are some circumstances that $1 million does not cover the damages caused by the accident. If your injuries resulted in long hospital stays or multiple surgeries, this is especially possible. You will need to retain the services of a skilled personal injury attorney if this has happened to you. An attorney will fight to recover the compensation you deserve.

To do so, you must file your claim within the statute of limitations. In Connecticut, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim is generally three years from the date of the accident. It is important that you file your claim within three years of the date of your accident. The sooner you can bring attention to your claim, the better. Contact our firm today to learn more.

Contact Our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog