What to Know About Halloween DUI Charges in Connecticut

What to Know About Halloween DUI Charges in Connecticut

Halloween is a holiday that may involve bar hopping and drinking. This is why the holiday marks a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents. For this reason, law enforcement will crack down on these incidents to keep drunk drivers off the roads. Drivers who are found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration over the legal limit of .08% will be charged with a DUI in Connecticut.

If you are facing DUI charges this Halloween, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who understands that the charges you are facing have the potential to result in severe consequences. DUI charges can impact an individual for years to come. Our dedicated attorney is prepared to fight for your rights in court. Our firm will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our services and how we can help, contact our firm to schedule your initial consultation.

Continue reading to learn more about DUI penalties in Connecticut and the steps to take following being charged. If you have any additional questions, do not hesitate to contact our firm.

What are the penalties for a first offense DUI?

Drivers who are charged with a first offense DUI can face the following penalties:

  • Mandatory 45-day license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Jail time up to 6 months
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible participation in an alcohol education and treatment program

What are the penalties for a second offense DUI?

Drivers who are charged with a second offense DUI within 10 years of the first conviction will face the following more severe penalties:

  • Maximum of 2 years in jail
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • Fines between $1000-$4000
  • A minimum 45-day license suspension
  • The requirement of an ignition interlock device for at least 3 years

What are the penalties for a third offense DUI?

Drivers who are facing DUI charges for the third time will face the following consequences:

  • 1-3 years in jail
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • Having your license revoked
  • Fines between $2000-$8000

If you are facing any of the above penalties, it is important that you retain the services of our experienced criminal defense attorney. Give our firm a call today to get started. We are prepared to assist you.

Contact Our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog