Is Driving Without Insurance a Crime in Connecticut?

Monthly insurance payments can be expensive and annoying, especially if you consider yourself a model driver and get into few or no accidents. However, driving without insurance is a crime in most states across the U.S. and can be accompanied by severe penalties and fines. If you are being charged with driving without insurance, reach out to a Hartford County traffic violation attorney for more information and experienced legal representation.

Does Connecticut Require Driver’s Insurance?

Connecticut is one of 48 U.S. states that require all drivers to have insurance. Under Connecticut state law, anyone with a driver’s license or motor vehicle registration has to get and maintain a minimum amount of auto insurance.

The minimum insurance that a driver must have in Connecticut is $25,000 for property damage per accident, $25,000 for bodily injury per person, and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.

Having auto insurance is important for any person. Everyone wants to think that they will never be in a situation where they get into an accident and have no way to pay damages. However, driving can be dangerous and accidents can happen to anyone. Imagine you caused a car accident and owed $20,000 to the other driver to cover their medical bills and property damage, but you don’t have auto insurance. The average person does not have an unneeded extra $20,000 lying around. If you are able to find the money to pay out of pocket it will likely drain your savings or cause you to go into debt. Having a minimum amount of insurance is beneficial to protect you and your family’s finances.

Will I Get in Trouble for Driving Without Insurance?

Connecticut considers the crime of driving without insurance to be a serious issue. Consequently, if you are caught you can face harsh penalties. Whether you are pulled over and do not have proof of insurance present, you failed to maintain the insurance so it lapsed, or you do not have insurance at all, you can be in serious trouble. The consequences can include the following.

Failure to carry proof of insurance:

  • Fines of $50
  • Additional fees bringing the total to $117

Failure to maintain your insurance:

  • Class C misdemeanor
  • Fines up to $500
  • Jail time of up to 3 months
  • Suspension of your registration
    • This can be avoided by making an agreement with the Connecticut DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) to obtain insurance and pay a $200 civil penalty
  • Suspension of your license if within 30 days of your registration suspension action is not taken to rectify the situation

Driving without insurance:

  • Fines ranging from $100 to $1,000
  • Jail time of up to 3 months
  • Suspension of your license and registration
    • 1 month for a first offense
    • 6 months for a second or subsequent offense

Driving a commercial vehicle without insurance:

  • Class D felony
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Jail time of up to 5 years
  • Suspension of your license and registration

Read Our Latest Featured Blog

  •  What Are the Responsibilities of a Trustee?
  •  How Can I Prepare for a Consultation with a Lawyer?
  •  Is Stalking a Crime in Connecticut?