Charged with a DUI this Labor Day? What to Know

Charged with a DUI this Labor Day? What to Know

Labor Day marks a heightened risk of drunk driving incidents in Connecticut. If you have been charged with a DUI over the holiday weekend, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will explore all defense opportunities on your behalf.

To learn the potential penalties that you may face for your actions, continue reading to learn the first, second, and third offense DUI consequences.

Our skilled team of attorneys is prepared to take on your case today. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, reach out to our firm to discuss your specific situation. We would be happy to schedule your initial consultation as soon as possible.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI?

A first offense conviction may result in the following consequences in Connecticut:

  • Jail time up to 6 months with a minimum of 2 days or a 6-month suspended jail sentence and probation with 100 hours of community service.
  • Fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Mandatory 45-day license suspension
  • Mandatory 1-year installation of ignition interlock device after restoration of a license
  • Possible required participation in an alcohol education and treatment program

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI?

If you are charged with a second DUI within 10 years of a first conviction, you may face the following consequences:

  • Maximum of two years of jail time and probation
  • 100 hours of community service
  • Fines of $1,000–$4,000
  • A minimum 45-day license suspension
  • At least three years required use of ignition interlock devices

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI?

A third offense DUI conviction in Connecticut will result in the following consequences:

  • One to three years of jail time
  • Probation
  • 100 hours of community service
  • Fines ranging between $2,000–$8,000
  • Revocation of your license

You may be eligible for reinstatement after two years of revocation of your license. If you are eligible, you will only be able to drive interlock-equipped vehicles for as long as you drive.

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is important that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney who will walk you through the legal process ahead. Our legal team of criminal attorneys understands that these penalties may have a severe impact on your future and livelihood. To learn how we will defend your rights in court, give our firm a call.

Contact our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog