Charged With a DUI this 4th of July in CT? What to Know

Charged With a DUI this 4th of July in CT? What to Know

The Fourth of July marks a time of year to celebrate with friends and family. Unfortunately, the Fourth of July also marks a heightened risk for drives operating their vehicles under the influence. Drivers who are found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of over .08% (the legal limit) can be charged with a DUI, especially while driving under the influence during a holiday weekend. These charges come with severe penalties and consequences. Connecticut law does not take DUI charges lightly.

If you have recently been charged with a DUI this past Fourth of July, it is important that you contact an experienced Connecticut DUI defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. Continue reading to discover the penalties for first, second, and third offense DUIs in the state of Connecticut. Give our firm a call today if you have any questions about your charges and your upcoming legal process.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI? 

You may face the following consequences if you have been charged with a first-offense DUI in Connecticut:

  • Jail time up to 6 months
  • Mandatory 45-day license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Possible participation in an alcohol education and treatment program
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • Fines from $500-$1000

Second Offense DUI Penalties

Connecticut does not take second-offense DUIs lightly. If you have been charged with a DUI a second time within 10 years of your first conviction, you may face the following consequences:

  • Maximum of 2 years in jail
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for at least 3 years
  • A minimum 45-day license suspension
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • Fines between $1000-$4000

Third Offense DUI Penalties

The most severe DUI consequences are for third-offense DUIs including the following penalties:

  • 1-3 years in jail
  • Revoked license
  • Fines between $2000-$8000
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is important to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our firm is experienced with handling circumstances such as this and will fight for your rights in court. To begin this process today, reach out to our knowledgeable criminal defense law firm so that we can walk you through the legal process ahead. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to give our firm a call.

Contact Our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog