Does Connecticut have any minimum mandatory sentences?

Does Connecticut have any minimum mandatory sentences?

Certain crimes in the state of Connecticut are seen as particularly harmful, violent, or dangerous, and therefore, have harsher penalties. The state has made the decision to impose a minimum mandatory prison sentence for 74 different crimes. Though a mandatory minimum sentence requires the offender to serve at least a specific amount of time in prison, there are situations in which the offender may have the potential to be released prior to the sentence completion.

The lowest amount of time an offender can serve for mandatory minimum sentences is for a first offense driving or boating under the influence charge, at just 48 hours. This is also only in the event that they were not granted a community service sentence as well. On the opposite end of the spectrum, the highest mandatory minimum sentence is one of life imprisonment without the potential for early release due to a crime of murder with special circumstances.

The majority of these crimes also have been issued a maximum prison sentence. For example, if you were convicted of a home invasion, the maximum prison sentence is only 25 years. It is important to note that if you meet certain criteria, you may be eligible to be released prior to the date your minimum term is scheduled to end.

If you have been charged with a crime and are concerned about having to serve a mandatory minimum sentence, it is important that you consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can work to protect your future.

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. Contact the law firm to set up a free initial consultation today. 

Read Our Latest Featured Blog