Can I Still File an Injury Claim If I Initially Denied Medical Care?

Sometimes when an accident happens, paramedics or other medical professionals will offer you medical care right away. While it is often advisable to accept this care, sometimes people deny it. That does not prevent them from pursuing a personal injury case later. If you rejected medical care at the scene of an accident and you believe that someone else’s negligence caused your injuries, then our Hartford County personal injury attorneys are ready to help you.

How Does Refusing Medical Care Count Against Me?

The opposing side in your case can try to use your refusal of medical care against you in a few ways. Some common arguments are:

  • You were injured after this accident and that is why you did not need medical care at the scene
  • You made your injuries worse by refusing care
  • If your injuries are as serious as you claim, then you would have sought out medical care right away

People have many reasons why they do not get medical care right away after an accident. They still have the right to sue for compensation if another person’s negligence causes an accident.

Can a Personal Injury Lawyer Help?

Having a lawyer by your side can be helpful in a case like this. If you refuse medical care at the scene, the other side is going to try and use that. They may even accuse you of fault or wrongdoing.

Your personal injury lawyer is ready to defend you. They can do their best to build a rock-solid case that will stand up to scrutiny. An attorney from our firm can help you fight for fair compensation and hold all liable parties accountable.

What Should My Compensation Cover?

You might receive an initial offer from an insurance company, but these first offers are rarely enough to cover all of the expenses stemming from an accident. Whether you were involved in a slip-and-fall accident or a car crash, you should fight for a reasonable compensation offer that helps make up for:

  • Medical bills
  • The cost of future medical care, if you will need it
  • Lost wages
  • A loss of earning potential
  • Mental anguish
  • Loss of earning potential
  • Pain from disability or disfigurement

Can I Sue If I’m Partially At Fault?

Even if you are partly at fault for the accident, you may be able to sue for compensation. In Connecticut, as long as your assigned portion of the blame is less than 51% you could be entitled to damages. However, you should know that the amount you are awarded will be reduced by how at fault you are.

So if you get a verdict of $300,000, but you were found to be 20% at fault, your total award gets reduced. You would end up with 80% of what you were owed, or $240,000.

Schedule a Consultation

When you are ready to talk about pursuing a personal injury case and fighting for the compensation that you deserve, we are here for you. Contact the Law Offices of Marc N. Needelman and set up a consultation with our team. We would love to tell you more about your legal options.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog

  •  What Are the Responsibilities of a Trustee?
  •  How Can I Prepare for a Consultation with a Lawyer?
  •  Is Stalking a Crime in Connecticut?