Nhat Hanh, a Buddist monk, once said, “Anger is like a flame blazing up and consuming our self-control, making us think, say, and do things that we will probably regret later.” If you have been accused of letting anger consume your self-control by allegedly committing an assault, please read on, then contact one of our experienced Hartford County assault attorneys to learn what the consequences are for assault charges in Connecticut.
What are the consequences for assault charges in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, the penalties for assault convictions are stiff. They are as follows:
Assault, first degree:
- Class B felony conviction
- Up to 20 years in prison (5-year minimum)
- Up to a $15,000 fine
Assault, second degree:
- Class D felony conviction
- 1 to 5 years in prison
- Up to a $5,000 fine
Assault in the third degree:
- Class A Misdemeanor conviction
- Up to 1 year in prison
- Up to a $2,000 fine
How is assault in the third degree different from first- or second-degree assault?
The following actions determine how an assault is classified:
Assault in the third degree:
- Inflicting or threatening to inflict minor injuries, touching and threatening words or behavior
- Pushing someone away from you in an argument
- Verbally threatening an individual with violence
- Raising a fist and moving it in a threatening manner toward a person
First- or Second-Degree Assault:
- Inflicting or threatening to inflict serious injuries or the addition of weapons into the interaction
- A defendant waving a pocket knife around while threatening to stab the alleged victim
- Using a glass bottle to strike the alleged victim on the head
- Shooting or threatening to shoot someone, particularly while the gun is pointed at the alleged victim
- Attacking a pregnant woman or disabled person
- Threatening someone with a vehicle
- Assault with the intent to commit another felony crime, such as robbery or rape
How can you fight assault charges in Connecticut?
First, you should reach out to one of our skilled Hartford County criminal defense attorneys who will argue that you were defending yourself, another person or property and, thus, were justified in your use of force. An assault conviction carries weighty penalties, so do not go it alone. Whether you are facing a charge of assault in the third degree or first-degree assault, you should reach out to a qualified legal professional because an assault conviction of any severity can hold life-long consequences. Do not let a brief lapse in judgment ruin the rest of your life. Give us a call today.
Contact our Firm
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.