The aftermath of a car accident is often overwhelming for a person to handle. During this time, those involved usually gather the information they can in order to file a claim with an insurance company to recover compensation. However, when the other driver involved in the accident is uninsured, this can make the process much more challenging. If you were in a car accident with an uninsured driver, it is important to contact an experienced Connecticut personal injury attorney to discuss your case and discover your options.
Connecticut “Fault” State Law
The state of Connecticut follows a “fault” system when dealing with financial responsibilities after an automobile accident. This means that the individual who was at fault for the car accident is responsible for compensating other parties who suffered any harm due to the incident. When the driver has insurance, their insurance carrier generally covers these losses up to policy limits.
Auto Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
It is important to know that Connecticut requires all drivers and vehicle owners to have a minimum amount of liability car insurance coverage. If a driver is found operating a vehicle without car insurance in the state, they can face a fine and be ordered to have their coverage reinstated. Failure to reinstate coverage can result in a suspension of their vehicle registration and possible prevention of registering a vehicle in the state.
While this is true, there are still some drivers who operate their vehicles without car insurance. It is because of this that Connecticut also requires drivers to buy uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. According to the the Connecticut DMV, this covers “you, your relatives who live with you and your passengers if they are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, a motorist whose bodily injury liability limits are less than your uninsured/underinsured motorist limits or a hit-and-run driver.” The requirement is as follows:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 total per accident
Filing a Claim
The course of action when filing a claim with an insurance company after an uninsured car accident is the same as any other claim. When calling insurance, be sure to have the following information ready:
- Your policy information
- The date and time of the accident
- A description of the accident
- Names, addresses, and contact information of witnesses
- The other driver’s name and contact information
- The damages to your vehicle
- Injuries to yourself and others
- The police report from the accident
When filing a claim, it is important to know that many insurance companies allow as little as 30 days from the date of an accident to make an uninsured motorist claim.
Contact our Firm
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.