Getting convicted of a DUI can come with severe penalties in Connecticut. Even after a first offense, it’s mandatory for your license to be suspended for at least 45 days. This can be a massive inconvenience to those who require reliable transportation for their daily obligations. Sometimes, people choose to drive on a suspended license, which is called driving under suspension. However, this action can have undesirable consequences. Many DUI offenders wonder about what could happen if they’re caught driving under suspension. Thankfully, our knowledgeable law firm has the answers you need! Continue reading this blog to find out how one of our Hartord County DUI Lawyers can provide individualized legal counseling today.
WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF I’M CAUGHT DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION AFTER A DUI CONVICTION IN CONNECTICUT?
Driving under suspension is a crime if your license was suspended for a DUI offense. If a police officer catches you doing this, you’ll almost definitely be arrested. Connecticut takes DUI offenses seriously, so you’re also likely to face harsher penalties than those who have their license suspended for other reasons, such as not paying a speeding ticket.
WHAT PENALTIES CAN I FACE?
This crime is no joke. The penalties you face for driving under suspension could potentially be more severe than the penalties you were served for your DUI conviction. According to Connecticut law, you’ll serve no less than 30 days of jail time with a maximum sentence of one year. The only way to possibly avoid jail time is if your lawyer convinces the court of mitigating circumstances. You’ll also be fined between $500 and $1,000. If you’re caught driving under suspension a second time after a DUI, you could be given between 120 days and two years in prison and similar fines.
CAN I OBTAIN A CONDITIONAL LICENSE?
Some states offer conditional licenses, or hardship licenses, to drivers with suspended licenses who need their vehicle to go to work, school, or another obligation. This allows them to legally drive while they’re waiting for their license to be reinstated. Normally, drivers with conditional licenses can only drive under certain conditions, such as only during daylight hours. Unfortunately, Connecticut does not currently offer hardship licenses to drivers who lost their licenses because of a DUI. This means that if your license is suspended, you’ll need to wait until the suspension is over before you can operate your vehicle.
Have you recently been arrested for driving with a suspended license after a DUI charge? You’ll need an effective criminal defense lawyer on your side. No need to panic because the Law Office of Marc N. Needelman is here to fight for you! Contact our highly experienced team today for an initial consultation.