What are the Penalties for a Hit and Run in Connecticut?

Connecticut requires drivers to pull over and make sure of everyone’s safety whenever vehicles collide. If you fail to do so, you open yourself up to charges for a hit and run. Given the difficulty law enforcement will have in identifying and apprehending you, you can bet that they will prosecute you to the fullest extent of state law. If you suspect you are involved in a hit and run in Connecticut, please read on, then contact one of our experienced Hartford County assault attorneys today.

What constitutes a hit and run in Connecticut?

Per Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) section 14-224, drivers involved in a car accident of any sort must stop, render necessary assistance and give personal identifying information to a police officer, witness, injured person or property owner. Drivers in this situation must provide the following:

  • Names
  • Addresses
  • Operator’s license number
  • Registration number

If drivers do not have the ability to report this information to any appropriate person for any reason, they must notify local law enforcement authorities of the details of the accident. Failure to do so can result in criminal charges for “evading responsibility,” a serious charge with serious consequences.

What consequences do you face for a hit and run in Connecticut?

If you have the misfortune to sustain a conviction for a hit and run, you can expect severe penalties. At a minimum, state law calls for a suspension of your license and a period of incarceration. Law enforcement will classify your alleged offense as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the damage and injuries you inflicted. These penalties are as follows:

Misdemeanor hit and run (involves only property damage):

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Probation
  • Fines of up to $600
  • License suspension of ninety days

Felony hit and run with physical injuries:

  • Up to five years in prison
  • Fines of up to $600
  • License suspension of one year (two years, if a subsequent offense)

Felony hit and run, involving death or serious physical injuries:

  • Up to twenty years in prison
  • Fines of up to $20,000
  • License suspension of one year (two years, if a subsequent offense)

How do you defend against a hit-and-run charge?

If law enforcement has charged you with evading responsibility, i.e. hit and run, you should speak with one of our skilled Hartford County criminal defense attorneys who will discuss the particulars of your case and employ one of the following defenses:

  • Mistaken identity
  • No proof of damage or accident
  • You did not, in fact, flee the scene; the alleged victim did

Our firm is here to help you fight for your future.

Contact our Firm

If you face a matter relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense or estate planning, contact Marc N. Needelman today.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog