Many people underestimate the harsh ramifications of a marijuana-related charge. Unfortunately, these charges can actually be quite damaging, and many of them can even land you in jail. If you have recently received a marijuana charge, do not think you can beat it without the help of experienced legal counsel. Fortunately, our firm is ready to help. We tirelessly and aggressively represent our clients to protect them from the repercussions of a criminal conviction. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding marijuana laws in Connecticut:
What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Connecticut?
Fortunately, Connecticut has largely decriminalized first-time possession offenses, however, this does not mean you will not go to jail for marijuana possession of any amount. The consequences of marijuana possession in the state of Connecticut are as follows:
- Less than ½ ounce (first offense): Civil penalty, $150 fine
- Less than ½ ounce (second offense: Civil penalty, $500 fine
- More than ½ ounce: Misdemeanor, 1 year of incarceration, $2,000 fine
Additionally, if you are caught in the possession of marijuana within 1,500 feet of a school or daycare center, you may face a term of imprisonment and a term of probation that includes a community service requirement.
What happens if I am caught selling or growing marijuana in Connecticut?
Connecticut courts take the sale, distribution, and cultivation of marijuana very seriously. If you have been charged with any of the offenses mentioned below, you must reach out to an experienced attorney as soon as possible. If convicted, you may face the following penalties:
- Less than 1 kilogram (first offense): Felony, 7 years incarceration, $25,000 fine
- Less than 1 kilogram (second offense): Felony, 15 years incarceration, $100,000 fine
- 1 kilogram or more (first offense): Felony, up to 20 years incarceration, $25,000 fine
- 1 kilogram or more (subsequent offense): Felony, up to 25 years incarceration, $100,000 fine
If you are caught selling or cultivating marijuana within 1,500 feet of an elementary or middle school, a public housing project, or a daycare center, you may face an additional three years of imprisonment. If you are caught selling to a minor under the age of 18, you may also face an additional two years of imprisonment.
Contact our experienced Connecticut firm
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.