Gun laws in the state of Connecticut have changed significantly over the last ten years. Most residents have the right to apply for a firearms license, a purchase permit, as well as a permit to carry a firearm. However, there are different rules and regulations placed on gun owners that they should be aware of. Those who are convicted of violating gun laws in Connecticut can face serious consequences as a result of their actions, whether it is intentional or unintentional. When facing these situations, it is important to retain the services of an experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney for assistance.
Gun Laws in Connecticut
The gun laws in Connecticut are strict compared to many other states. The state imposes different restrictions on different guns. The gun laws in Connecticut are as follows:
- Anyone who owns a rifle or a shotgun does not need a permit to carry but they do need an eligibility certificate in order to purchase one. Anyone who wants to own an assault weapon is required to be licensed and register their weapons. A person must be 18 years of age to possess or purchase a long gun in the state.
- Handgun owners need a license to own, a permit to carry, and a permit to purchase. However, they do not need to register the handgun. A person must be 21 years of age to possess or purchase a handgun in the state.
- Connecticut recognizes the Castle Doctrine. This states that an individual has no duty to retreat when in their home and may use reasonable force, including a weapon, to defend a person or their property.
- Lawful gun owners can carry in restaurants
Crimes Involving Weapons in Connecticut
If a weapon is involved in the commission of a crime in Connecticut, the consequences of these actions can significantly worsen for the offender. For example, assault charges without a weapon are usually considered assault in the third degree and a Class A misdemeanor. This can result in up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2000. In the event of aggravated assault, offenders can face a Class B felony charge that results in up to 20 years imprisonment and a fine up to $15,000. Those who are charged with a crime using a weapon can face penalties that have the potential to result in lifelong burdens, including being a convicted felon.
Contact our Firm
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.