What are the Consequences of Assault and Battery in Connecticut?

What are the Consequences of Assault and Battery in Connecticut?

Assault is considered a violent crime in Connecticut and comes with serious consequences. If you are facing assault charges in the state of Connecticut, continue reading to learn the potential consequences you may face. If you require defense services, reach out to our experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney to learn how we can help. Our firm is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. At the Law Offices of Marc N. Needelman, our criminal defense firm fights aggressively to defend your rights.

What are the consequences of assault and battery in Connecticut?

First-degree assault

First-degree assault is considered a Class B felony. This will result in up to 20 years imprisonment and $15,000 in fines. First-degree assault includes the following:

  • Assault with a deadly weapon or instrument that causes serious injury
  • Assault with intent to permanently disfigure a person or destroy, amputate or disable organs or limbs
  • Reckless conduct that creates a risk of death and causes serious injury
  • Assault aided by two or more other people with the intent to cause injury
  • Injury caused by discharging a firearm

Second-degree assault

Second-degree assault is considered a Class D felony. This is punishable by up to five years in jail and $5,000 in fines. Second-degree assault includes the following:

  • Assault resulting in injury to another person
  • Assault with a deadly weapon or instrument, other than a firearm, intending to cause injury
  • Reckless conduct with a deadly weapon that causes serious injury
  • Intentionally causing stupor, unconsciousness, physical impairment, or injury by drugging a person without consent and not for medical treatment
  • Assault with a motor vehicle by an intoxicated person causing serious injury

Third-degree assault

Third-degree assault is considered a Class A misdemeanor. This is punishable by one year in prison and up to $2,000 in fines. Third-degree assault includes the following acts:

  • Intentionally causing physical injury
  • Reckless conduct resulting in serious injury
  • Negligent use of a deadly weapon, instrument, or electronic defense weapon resulting in injury

When an assault is against an elderly, disabled, pregnant, blind, or mentally disabled person or a law enforcement officer or Department of Correction employee, charges may be elevated from a misdemeanor or less serious felony and sentences increased with possible mandatory jail.

If you are facing any of the above consequences, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney.

Contact our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog