In honor of the unofficial end of summer, you decided to celebrate this Labor Day with a passion. Very likely, that celebration involved the imbibing of alcoholic beverages or, in some cases, other intoxicating substances. Unfortunately, you then decided to end that celebration by getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle and, as luck would have it, a police officer pulled you over. If you face charges for a DUI on Labor Day, you should expect Connecticut law enforcement to work very hard to penalize you for your alleged actions. For more information on what the penalties are for a Labor Day DUI in Connecticut, please continue reading, then contact one of our experienced Hartford County DUI attorneys today.
Do I need a Connecticut lawyer for a Labor Day DUI?
To be sure, the state of Connecticut does not require individuals arrested and charged with driving under the influence to have a lawyer appear with them in court or provide them with legal representation. However, individuals in that position will most likely be unprepared for the onslaught unleashed by the prosecutor, especially if they are not familiar with their rights and responsibilities in regard to this proceeding. Therefore, it is advisable that all those charged with a DUI should avail themselves of one of our skilled Hartford County criminal defense attorneys.
What penalties do you face for a Labor Day DUI in Connecticut?
Needless to say, the penalties for a Labor Day DUI are just as severe as those committed on any other day of the year. In the Constitution State, defendants receive penalties based on the number of times, if any, they have previously committed this offense. In Connecticut, you commit a DUI if you are:
- Under twenty-one with a blood alcohol content of 0.02 percent or higher
- Over twenty-one with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher
- A commercial driver with a blood alcohol content of 0.04 percent or higher
. Assuming this is your first offense, you will face the following penalties:
- Jail time: Those convicted of a DUI will serve anywhere between two days and six months in jail, or a six-month suspended jail sentence and probation with one hundred hours of community service.
- Fines: Financial penalties range between five hundred and one thousand dollars.
- Mandatory license suspension: Drivers convicted of a first-offense DUI will lose their driver’s licenses for forty-five days.
- Ignition interlock device: After the restoration of their license, a person convicted of DUI will need to install an ignition interlock device for one year.
- Treatment: A court may order you to participate in an alcohol education and treatment program.
Our firm is here to help you if you face charges for a Labor Day DUI.
Contact our Firm
If you face a matter relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense or estate planning, contact Marc N. Needelman today.