What are Connecticut’s Marijuana Laws?

What are Connecticut’s Marijuana Laws?

While several states have moved to legalize the recreational use of marijuana, the state of Connecticut has not. Individuals who are found in possession of, selling, or growing marijuana can face certain consequences depending on the circumstance of the offense. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney if you were charged with a drug crime. 

What are the Consequences of Possession? 

The state of Connecticut has decriminalized first-time marijuana possession offenses. While this is true, it does not mean you cannot go to jail for the possession of the drug. These consequences can depend on the amount that is in possession. This can include:

  • Less than ½ ounce (first offense): Civil penalty, $150 fine
  • Less than ½ ounce (second offense: Civil penalty, $500 fine
  • More than ½ ounce: Misdemeanor, 1 year of incarceration, $2,000 fine

If a person is found in possession of marijuana within 1,500 feet of a school or daycare center, they can face imprisonment, a term of probation, and a community service requirement.

What are the Consequences of Selling or Growing?

In Connecticut, the sale, distribution, and cultivation of marijuana are very serious crimes. Law enforcement works hard to combat these offenses, which is why there are significant consequences that come with their convictions. This can include the following:

  • Less than 1 kilogram (first offense): Felony, 7 years incarceration, $25,000 fine
  • Less than 1 kilogram (second offense): Felony, 15 years incarceration, $100,000 fine
  • 1 kilogram or more (first offense): Felony, up to 20 years incarceration, $25,000 fine
  • 1 kilogram or more (subsequent offense): Felony, up to 25 years incarceration, $100,000 fine

Those who are found selling or cultivating marijuana within 1,500 feet of an elementary or middle school, a public housing project, or a daycare center can face an extra  three years of imprisonment. If they are caught selling to a minor under 18 years old, they could face an additional two years of imprisonment as well.

Contact our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog