With harsh Connecticut winters approaching, it is the unfortunate reality that more and more people will be injured in snow and ice accidents. Homeowners are responsible for salting, shoveling, and clearing away all storm-related hazards within a certain period of time, and if you are injured because a property owner failed to do so, you are most likely now seeking financial compensation to help with your recovery. Please read on and reach out to our experienced firm to learn more:
How do I recover financial compensation after a snow and ice accident?’
To recover financial compensation, you will have to prove that you were injured due to another party’s negligence. While certain states have rules in place governing the time property owners have to remove snow, Connecticut leaves this up to individual towns to decide. For example, in West Hartford, property owners have either 12 hours after the winter event ends, or 12 hours after of sunrise–whichever happens second. If you were injured in a snow or ice accident and a property owner failed to take action within the legally acceptable period of time, you will most likely be able to recover financial compensation for your injuries.
Unfortunately, insurance companies will very often try and disprove your personal injury claim, thereby denying you the compensation you deserve. This is unacceptable, which is why you need to hire an experienced attorney who is ready to fight back. Our attorneys will recover security camera footage of your accident, speak with witnesses of the accident and use their testimony, provide police reports, and more to prove your claim.
Additionally, if you have been injured, the most important thing you can do is seek medical attention immediately. A physician will treat your injuries appropriately, as well as provide you with medical documentation detailing their extent. You may also use this information to prove your personal injury claim.
What is the statute of limitations in Connecticut?
If you were injured in a snow or ice accident, you only have a certain amount of time to file a personal injury claim. The statute of limitations in Connecticut is two years, which means you will have two years from the date of your accident to file a personal injury claim against a negligent party. If you wait any longer than two years, you will be denied the compensation you deserve. Our firm is ready to get the claims process started.
Contact our experienced Connecticut firm
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.