If you have been charged with the distribution of marijuana in Connecticut, you are facing serious consequences. Though marijuana possession is decriminalized in the state of Connecticut, the distribution and simple cultivation of a small amount of the drug is not. If convicted of distribution, you are facing a felony, a large fine, and years of incarceration.
Please note that the state of Connecticut will also consider possession with intent to distribute in this category, even if you haven’t been caught doing so. So, if you are in possession of an amount of marijuana that is clearly not just for your own personal use, you could be facing distribution charges. The outline of these penalties are as follows:
- If you have been charged with distributing less than 1 kilogram on a first offense, you will be facing a felony charge, up to 7 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000. Subsequent offenses of the distribution of less than 1 kilogram include penalties of up to 15 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $100,000.
- If you have been charged with distributing 1 kilogram or more on a first offense, you will be facing at least 5 years, but no more than 20 years of imprisonment, as well as a fine of up to $25,000. Subsequent offenses of this crime will result in between 10 and 25 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000.
Those who are charged with a distribution of marijuana crimes should also be aware that if an adult is found to distribute to a person under the age of 18, they will be facing 2 additional years behind bars. If the distribution took place within 500 yards of a K-8 school, or a children’s daycare center, the offender is subject to 3 additional years of imprisonment.
If you have been charged with the distribution of marijuana, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney today.
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. Contact the law firm to set up a free initial consultation.