When we get in the car with a loved one, we assume that they will drive carefully and responsibly. Unfortunately, this is not always the case. If you are injured due to another party’s negligence, you may be entitled to recover compensation. But, if the person responsible for your accident is a friend or family member, do you have to take legal action against them? Read on to learn more about passenger injuries in Connecticut car accidents.
How Are Car Accidents Commonly Caused?
Car accidents can be caused in a number of different ways. Some accidents are the result of faulty car parts, hazardous road conditions, or inclement weather. But, the majority of accidents are a result of driver negligence. Some common forms of negligence include:
- Driving too fast for conditions
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Texting or talking on cell phones
- Failure to obey the rules of the road
- Failure to obey traffic signals or signs
- Failure to yield to pedestrians
- Failure to drive a reasonable distance apart
Do I Have to Take Legal Action Against the Driver?
Some states are no-fault states when it comes to a car accident. This means that you can take legal action against the driver’s insurance company, rather than the driver himself. Connecticut is not a no-fault state, meaning insurance will only cover so much. Connecticut liability will cover the following:
- $20,000 of insurance coverage for bodily injury or death of one person
- $40,000 of insurance coverage for bodily injury or death of more than one person
- $10,000 of insurance coverage for property damage
In some cases, your injury will be more expensive than the amount allotted. In this case, you may have to take legal action against your loved one to obtain the rest of the compensation needed to alleviate the burdens caused by the accident.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
If you do decide to pursue legal action, you will need to file your claim within a certain amount of time. This deadline is known as a statute of limitations. In Connecticut, the statute of limitations for a personal injury accident is generally two years from the date of the accident. This means that if you fail to file within two years, you will likely lose your opportunity to recover compensation.
If you have been injured in a car accident in Connecticut, contact our firm today to discuss your case.
Contact our Firm
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.