Despite the fact that many states throughout the country are moving towards the legalization of recreational marijuana, Connecticut still has strict laws on the drug. When an individual in Connecticut is arrested on a marijuana charge, they may face serious penalties. It is important to note that these penalties are largely based on the amount of marijuana that the accused has in their possession at the time of the arrest. If law enforcement believes that the individual also had the intent to distribute the drugs in their possession, they may find themselves in even more trouble.
Some of the consequences of a marijuana-related charge include the following penalties:
Possession of fewer than four ounces of marijuana:
- First-time offenders may face up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000
- Second or subsequent offenders may face up to five years in jail and a fine of $3,000
Possession of four or more ounces of marijuana:
- First offenders may face up to five years in jail and a fine of $2,000
- Second or subsequent offenders may face up to ten years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000
- They may instead face an alternative sentence of up to three years in jail with conditional release
If an individual possesses any amount of marijuana within 1500 feet of a school or daycare center, they may face a mandatory two-year sentence in addition to the possession sentence.
If you have been arrested for drug possession charges, contact our firm today.
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. Contact the law firm to set up a free initial consultation for matters related to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.