The state of Connecticut takes juvenile crimes very seriously. With that said, juvenile crimes are treated somewhat differently than adult crimes are. If a child under the age of 18 years old commits a crime, they are classified as a juvenile and will face significant penalties. There are certain instances in which a juvenile can actually be charged as an adult.
When a juvenile is detained in Connecticut, the law enforcement officers handling the matter will determine what will happen to the child. In Connecticut, law enforcement can choose between the following options:
- The child can be issued a warning and released to parents or a guardian
- Law enforcement can make a referral to a community organization or a formal diversion service
- The law enforcement officers can make an arrest
In the event that an arrest is made, law enforcement will issue a summons and prepare an arrest report. The parents or guardian may be required to sign the arrest report to make sure they actually show up to their court appearance.
One question that often arises is in regards to having a case waived up to adult court. This typically only happens in extreme situations, including:
- If the child is 14 years of age or older and was charged with a Class A or Class B felony
- If a juvenile is charged with a Class C, Class D, or an otherwise unclassified felony and the judge believes the case should be moved
It is important to note that in some cases, the adult court judge can reverse the transfer and send the case back to juvenile status.
If your child has been arrested in Connecticut, contact our firm today.
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. Contact the law firm to set up a free initial consultation for matters related to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.