Negligent driving practices lead to far too many preventable car accidents every year. Consequently, it’s no surprise that Connecticut takes reckless driving offenses seriously in our state, and a conviction can come with various repercussions. Are you a Connecticut driver? If so, you might have wondered about what could happen if you were caught breaking a traffic law. No need to worry because our knowledgeable law firm has all the answers you’ll need! Continue reading this blog to learn more, or reach out to one of our Hartford County Traffic Violation Attorneys for individualized legal counseling.
HOW DO THE COURTS DEFINE RECKLESS DRIVING?
Most speeding offenses are considered traffic violations in our courts. However, speeding becomes a reckless driving (per se) offense if a driver speeds 85 miles per hour or more. This is the most common type of this offense, but there are various other acts that could be categorized as this offense. In order for an offense to be legally considered reckless driving, it must meet at least one of the following elements:
- The person drove at a rate that would reasonably endanger someone else’s life
- The driver operated a vehicle when they knew it had a defective mechanism
- The driver operated a vehicle with the gears or clutch disengaged
- The person drove at a speed of 85 mph or higher
IS A RECKLESS DRIVING OFFENSE CONSIDERED A CRIME IN CONNECTICUT?
Yes, these offenses are considered class D misdemeanors in Connecticut’s courts. Reckless driving is taken quite seriously because these acts are often a danger to the general public.
WHAT PENALTIES CAN I FACE?
This offense is no laughing matter. You could face severe consequences if convicted of this misdemeanor. The exact penalties you’re given depend on your driving history, your criminal record, and the circumstances of the incident. Repeat offenders are much more likely to face harsher penalties.
First-time offenders might face the following:
- A driver’s license suspension for 30 to 90 days
- Up to 30 days of jail time
- Up to $300 in fees
Second-time offenders and repeat offenders might face the following:
- A driver’s license suspension for 90 days
- Up to a year of jail time
- Up to $600 in fines
Along with these penalties from the court, you can also expect your auto insurance rates to increase. Depending on the offense and conviction, some insurance companies might turn you away for your driving record.
If you’ve recently been charged with a reckless driving misdemeanor in Connecticut, you deserve a trustworthy criminal defense lawyer who will fight for your best interests. Thankfully, our highly experienced legal team is here for you every step of the way! Contact the Law Office of Mark N. Needelman today for an initial consultation.