Charged With a DUI this Thanksgiving Eve in CT? What to Know

Charged With a DUI this Thanksgiving Eve in CT? What to Know

Thanksgiving Eve is a holiday celebrated by many. It is tradition to spend the night before Thanksgiving going from bar to bar with old friends, especially for those visiting home from college. Unfortunately, Thanksgiving Eve also marks a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents. Drivers who are found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of over .08% can be charged with a DUI. Connecticut does not take drunk driving lightly, especially on a holiday such as this.

If you have been charged with a DUI this Thanksgiving Eve, it is important to understand the penalties you will face. To earn more about these charges and what to expect, continue reading. If you require assistance with your charges, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Connecticut DUI defense attorney. Our legal team at the Law Office of Marc N. Needelman is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our firm and how we can assist you, give our firm a call today.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Connecticut?

If you have been charged with a first-offense DUI in Connecticut, you may face the following penalties:

  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Jail time up to 6 months
  • Possible participation in an alcohol education and treatment program
  • Mandatory 45-day license suspension
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in Connecticut?

If you have been charged with a second-offense DUI within 10 years of your first conviction, you will face the following consequences in Connecticut:

  • Fines between $1000-$4000
  • A minimum 45-day license suspension
  • Maximum of 2 years in jail
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for at least 3 years
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Connecticut?

If you have been charged with a third-offense DUI in Connecticut, you will face the following severe consequences:

  • Fines between $2000-$8000
  • Revoked license
  • 1-3 years in jail
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service

If you are facing DUI charges this Thanksgiving Eve, it is crucial that you reach out to a dedicated DUI defense attorney who has experience handling charges such as yours. Our firm will fight for your rights in court. To get started today, give us a call to schedule your initial consultation with our team.

Contact Our Firm

Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. If you need an attorney who is ready to fight for the financial compensation you deserve, please do not hesitate to contact us to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm deals with matters relating to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.

Read Our Latest Featured Blog