Now that summer is in full swing, people throughout the state of Connecticut are taking their boats out on the state’s waterways. While boating is fun, it is important to stay safe. One of the leading causes of recreational boating-related deaths in the state are related to boating under the influence. In the state of Connecticut, individuals are not permitted to operate a watercraft or a boat while they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Connecticut also requires that all individuals operating a watercraft are free from disabilities that could hinder their control of the boat.
Violating these laws will result in serious penalties for offenders. Connecticut’s laws regarding operating a watercraft or a boat under the influence of alcohol or drugs are similar to the state’s laws regarding the drunk operation of a motor vehicle. The penalties for operating a boat with a BAC 0.08 or higher include the following:
- A first offense can result in a fine between $500 and $1000 as well as a year without boating privileges, up to 6 months in jail, among others
- A second offense within 10 years can result in a fine between $1000 and $4000, three years of boating privilege suspensions, up to two years in jail, and probation that requires 100 hours of community service
If you have been arrested for a BUI, contact us today.
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. Contact the law firm to set up a free initial consultation for matters related to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.