When an individual is charged with a crime in Connecticut, they will be faced with very serious penalties in the event that they are convicted. If the crime is violent in nature, the penalties are even more severe. Assault charges require the assistance of an experienced attorney that can assess the accusations and fight for the individual’s future. The penalties for assault and battery crimes in Connecticut are as follows:
First-degree assault: This crime is a Class B felony and can result in up to 20 years of imprisonment and up to $15,000 in fines. An individual can be charged with first-degree assault for the following:
- Assault with a deadly weapon that causes serious injury
- Assault with intent to permanently disfigure an individual
- Reckless conduct that causes serious injury or creates risk of death
- Injury caused by discharging a firearm
- Assault aided by multiple people with intent to cause injury
Second-degree assault: This crime is a Class D felony and can be punishable by up to 5 years of imprisonment and up to $5000 in fines.
Third-degree assault: This crime is a Class A misdemeanor that is punishable by up to one year of imprisonment and up to $2000 in fines.
If you have been charged with an assault crime in Connecticut, contact our firm today for strong legal representation.
Marc N. Needelman is an experienced attorney working throughout the state of Connecticut. Contact the law firm to set up a free initial consultation for matters related to real estate, personal injury, criminal defense, estate planning, and more.